Gradings and Belts

What is a Grading?

A grading is a day where all students wishing to excel to their next belt must pass an examination in front of senior instructors. Gradings will consist of different techniques and will differ from belt to belt. Students are expected to learn the pattern aka poomsae (Taeguk) for their next belt, further help on poomsae can be found to the right in the main menu.


We have  formal structure for our gradings, briefly the following will be required by students and must be shown correctly...

-- Basic Techniques; Kicking, punching, strikes, blocking

-- 1 Step Sparring-- No Contact Sparring, Unless for black Belt

-- Self Defense

-- Poomsae for their Grade and also Poomsae chosen from senior judging instructors

-- Wood breaking; only for adults, not always performed.


These are the most used elements within a grading, train hard and the grading will feel easier.


Judges will score your grading on 5 seperate elements i.e patterns, pre-arranged sparring, free sparring, basic techniques and self defence, however these can change and vary, judges will award each student a mark of pass, fail or dp, if a student recieves more than 1 fail in any sector of their grading they will fail their grade and need to reaply at the next one. Double Promoting is only giving to students who show the potential and dedication to taekwondo, it is also more work as two patterns and two sets of techniques etc must be learned before grading again.


For further information on gradings please contact:


What is a belt and what does it mean?

Taekwondo incorporates a grading system of coloured belts to symbolise the standard to which that student has achieved.


White Belt (10th kup): Signifies innocence, as that of a new student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwondo.


Yellow Tag (9th kup): Interim stage between white belt and yellow belt.


Yellow Belt (8th kup): Signifies earth, from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the Taekwondo foundation is being laid.


Green Tag (7th kup): Interim stage between yellow belt and green belt.


Green Belt (6th kup): Signifies the plant's growth as the Taekwondo skill begins to develop.


Blue Tag (5th kup): Interim stage between green belt and blue belt.


Blue Belt (4th kup): Signifies the Heaven towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwondo progresses.


Red Tag (3rd kup): Interim stage between blue belt and red belt.


Red Belt (2nd kup): Signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.


Black Tag (1st kup): Interim stage between red belt and black belt.


Black Belt (1st Dan): Opposite of White, therefore signifies the maturity and proficiency in Taekwondo. Also indicates the wearer's imperviousness to darkness and fear.

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus